1/96 USS Constitution Build

O

Oscarwray

Ok, so I am starting back to modeling after a long break for life and college. Figured I would dive right in with one I have wanted to build for a long time. The 1/96 USS Constitution will be 32" when completed and is by far the largest model I have ever attempted. So far, I have the hull together and 95% painted. I went ahead and put together all 500000000 cannons and the life boats. See pictures below. Thus far my major issue is paint. I do not have the funds for an airbrush so hand painting the stripes down the hull did not turn out as well as I would have liked (runs, clumps, too thick in some areas, too thin in others, etc). The copper bottom turned out pretty well from a rattle can but I learned my lesson about making sure the masking tape is secure and one side has some copper runners! I am working on the lower deck level now and hope to have it finished painted, installed and the cannons on it tomorrow. I do plan to rig the ship with the sails in place so if anyone has any pointers on that front, it would be appreciated!

B

Bunkerbarge

I'm afraid the pictures only seem to be thumbnails so it is quite difficult to see the model in any great detail. It is looking quite amazing so far but the biggest task with any ship model of this type is rigging. The trick there is to always work from the insides out so start with things like main braces.It's certainly quite a model to take on, god luck with it.

Gern

'Stashitis' victim
SMF Supporter
First Name
Dave
It would appear you're not frightened by a challenge Oscar! That's really a dive into the deep end.

Tricky to see the details from the thumbnails but what I can see looks good.