A good metalic paint?

First Name
Alex
Hi everyone

I'm interested to find out what you recommend for a good metalc acrylic paint? I mainly use Revell and Humbrol because they are the ones on offer at my local hobby store. However whilst the colours are quite good i find the metalic silvers and steels to be a little underwhelming.

Any recommendations for a really decent metalic steel and aluminium paint, for brushing not air brushing?

J

Jens Andrée

Although I've come to hate the AMMO by Mig brand - and especially for brush painting, I've found the metallic paints behaving quite different.
I've got aluminium and brass and they both brush well, and they look pretty good!
I've not tried to brush a large flat surface, but the details I have painted look better than Tamiyas metallic paints, and I love Tamiya paint. (although I mostly airbrush...)

I'm no expert in any way, but if you fail to find anything then you can try AMMO's aluminium and see how it works for you? AMMO metallic bottles need violent shaking before usage. I'm talking about minutes of vigorous shaking!

M

m1ks

Citadel paints from games workshop.
They have the finest metalflake of any metallic I've seen making them ideal for model kits and the 'out of scale' effect that others give.
They also brush better than any acrylic paint I've ever tried.
The colour names are weird being made for the tabletop gamers with fantasy figures but
Mithril silver - Aluminium
Chainmail - Steel
Boltgun metal - Gunmetal
Having said that the names have been changed since I last got my pots, not sure on them all but I think boltgun metal is leadbelcher but if you look at a colour chart online or go into a GW and ask they'll tell you the new names.
They also airbrush nicely when thinned with tamiya x20a but not IPA and water i hit and miss for spraying but a good thinner for brush painting.

yak face

Wossupwidee?
Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
tony