Airbrush For Total Newbie?

P

Peakoverload

When I was a kid I used to make quite a few Airfix models which I really enjoyed building but I was never really any good when it came to painting them. I haven't built a model in over 20 years but the other week I thought I'd have a go at building one again to see if I still enjoyed it and if it was something I wanted to get back into.

Well I did find that I really enjoyed it and whilst I know that I still have a lot to learn about building models 'properly' rather than just gluing bits together I think that these are things that I will only improve over time. The one thing though that still dissapoints me is the painting.

I don't expect to achieve 'professional' results after just building one model and accept that my skills will only improve the more I paint but ultimately I can't help but think that the only way I will achieve results I'll be happy with is by using an airbrush, trouble is I know absolutely nothing about airbrushing and prices for them range from worryingly cheap to scarily expensive.

I therefore have lots of questions which I hope someone might be able to help with.

1. Do I really need an airbrush?

The problem I find is that I find it very hard to get my paintwork to look 'natural' i.e. you can often tell that it's been applied by brush. Is that just the nature of using a brush or could I get better results with using acrylic paints rather than the enamel that I've always used?

2. Which airbrush should I buy?

I'm finding it very hard to work out what type of airbrush to buy and I really don't want to spend a lot of money on the wrong thing or on something better than I currently need.

I understand the difference between single and dual action airbrushes and as a beginner I feel more comfortable with the idea of a single action but that's about as much as I understand.