airbrush nozle size??

T

T. van Vuuren

Hi all.

I need to get a better quality airbrush for better painting on my planes.

I have seen one with a 0.3 mm nozle and a 0.25mm nozle ( more expensive though).

I would like to know wich one would be the better buy as I can't afford both :sad:

I mainly do 1.48 scale.Would the featheres edge on cammo eg. be scale/small enough on the 0.3mm? How much of a difference in "fan size" is there between 9.3 and 0.25 anyway?

If it is to fine, I recon you could have a hard time doing large base collours?

Thanx

Theuns

ps. the make I am looking at here in SA is "Air Craft" with a gravity feed double action trigger.

john

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
First Name
John
I've got a 0.5mm nozzle on and can get a nice fine line, but the line is quite sharp and if there is feathering it's not that noticeable, as for 0.3 to 0.25 isn't that about 0.05 I'm no expert but would you see that much of a difference?

stona

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
I don't think you'll see much difference between the two. If you are spraying model paints I'd stick with 0.3 as the smaller the nozzle the more blockages you may get. My two main brushes have 0.3 and 0.35 nozzles and I can't honestly tell the difference.

Steve

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
I know its a tad fiddly, but get an airbrush where you can change the tip and needle. One airbrush three tips and needles and you have every thing you need.

As Stona pointed out realy fine nozzle is = more frequent stopages as the media drys up in the hole.

Another thing to remember is that a finer nozzle will need more air pressure, so its either screw up and down on the one regulator, use two regulators or find a happy middle point and use that. (not the best way. To much for one and to little pressure in the other = not good results in either. Note to self; buy a second regulator valve!!!

T

T. van Vuuren