Airbrush problems

F

First Model

Not sure if I am doing something wrong here but it seems after long periods of use I get a lot of water through my airline and that ends up on the model during painting. My compressor has a water cather and whilst I am using it I can see a lot of condensation within the water catcher but not enough that it comes out the drain point.

I bought a cheap compressor from ebay as I couldnt afford a main stream one at the time and I am just starting out again.

Does anybody know what may be causing this and how I can resolve it?

Below is a picture of my air compressor after use and you can see the condensation in the water catcher.

View attachment 71238

IMG_2647.JPG

T

tecdes

Not got your Christian name. If you go into profile you can add it.

The compressor is similar to many used by members here. Better with a pressure tank but should give good results.

Matter of interest where & what conditions are you using the compressor. What temperature are you sing it in. I get almost no water at all so this is strange. I read somewhere that a malfunctioning compressor will produce water.

To see if you have any leaks use soapy water & using a pint brush paint all the joints including the piston head joint & all the airbrush joints. Also bring up to pressure & leave overnight. My equipment, the compressor is similar and the pressure will keep as left for over a week & I think indefinitely.

If all seems ok difficult to think of any other reason for the water being produced. I would speculate the compressor is malfunctioning. Can you ring the people you bought the compressor form & seek their opinion ?

You could try an inline water collector & there are those which fit on the airbrush itself.

Laurie

F

First Model

Laurie,

Many thanks for the advice. I am using the compressor in my garage as the other half does not want overspray in our nice new house. The compressor is on the floor.