Airbrush with adjustable airflow knob

M

m1ks

Do any of you guys on here use one, the one I mean has an adjustable know under the nozzle to adjust airflow at the gun rather than at the regulator.

Does anyone use one and does it have a useful function for airbrush modelling?

I have a Basic gravity fed one and am looking at getting a Spraymaster or similar, (as they do ones with Teflon needle bearings), and one of their models has this adjustement and a crown shaped needle cap, would appreciate comments?

It's my guess that this would be more useful for airbrush artists but i'm quite new to DA airbrushes

stona

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
I don't use one and struggle to see why you'd need that feature. Maybe in a studio where several airbrushes were running of a central compressor it would be vital but I only use one at a time and simply adjust my pressure on the compressor output. Of course I may be missing something here,I'm sure someone will point it out!

Cheers

Steve

F

Fenlander

I am not too sure what you mean by this. Do you mean one of the airbrushes where you have two external nozzles, one supplying the paint and the other the air? I know on these yo have to bring the two nozzles closer to increase the paint flow and separate them to get a softer, wider spray. generally they have a bottle feed for the paint and it is the rapid passage of the air across the top of the paint nozzle that 'sucks' the paint up into the airflow.

After all that, you are probably talking about something totally different.

colin m

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Colin
I have a H & S Evolution 2, which has the feature you mention. It's really only useful for fine tuning of the air pressure and I do use this sometimes. But, you could just as easily adjust the pressure at the compressor. I didn't buy the H & S because it had this adjustment on it, it just happened to have it. If your compressor is close by, you don't need this feature.

Colin M.......

tr1ckey66