Airbrushing advice needed for camo pattern (Panzerhaubitze 2000)

J

Jpeg6785

Hi Folks,

Could anyone help with the following questions Im relatively new to modelling but have progressed quite a bit recently and still have many, many questions.

1) When doing the camo pattern should the camo edge have a hard or soft edge when airbrushing? I was contemplating using panzerputty any other advice would be appreciated.

2) When the first base coat is down do I need to add a protective clear coat of any sort for the second colour to be airbrushed (First camo pattern after the base coat)? just wondering if the panzer putty will stick to the base coat or mark it in any way if I dont?

Hope that makes sense

Thanks in Advance

Adam

Tim Marlow

Little blokes aficionado
SMF Supporter
First Name
Tim
Hi Adam
Never used panzer putty, but I’m sure someone will be along in a minute that has.....
As to the camouflage pattern, to be honest it depends on the item being camouflaged. Some are hard edged and some are soft edged. You need to look carefully at references to see what is required. If you are unsure if something had hard or soft camo, ask the question. Someone will know.
Cheers
Tim

Mr Bowcat

SMF Supporter
First Name
Bob
Hi Adam,

I don't clear coat the base before applying the camo colours. assuming you are using the same type of paint (acrylic, enamel, etc).

Jakko

Way past the mad part
SMF Supporter
First Name
Jakko
1) When doing the camo pattern should the camo edge have a hard or soft edge when airbrushing? I was contemplating using panzerputty any other advice would be appreciated.
The PzH 2000 is finished in the NATO three-colour pattern, and that has almost, but not quite, hard-edged camouflage. It’s soft enough to be noticeable in 1/35th scale, but the overspray of a typical airbrush is probably too much to be realistic, so masking it off with Blu-Tack or similar (I assume that’s what this “panzerputty” is) is probably your best choice.