Brush marks?

SteveT

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
Hello, I'm just wondering how do you paint large pieces (say like a car body, ship side, aircraft wing etc) without leaving brush marks in the paint?

is it down to the paint or the brushes or the technique?

Gern

'Stashitis' victim
SMF Supporter
First Name
Dave
I'd say all three could affect your painting but I'm no expert - I could leave brush marks in water! Ron's yer man for brush painting large pieces. He's done some demo stuff on here which is well worth looking at.

BattleshipBob

Bob, bob, bobing along!
SMF Supporter
First Name
Bob
I am improving following Ron's excellent advice and some good stuff on Facebook. As Pete says, well thinned paint and many layers! Oh, forgot practice and practice followed by a dose of practice.

Airborne01

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
Thinned paint, several coats thereof; I use a round headed brush called a Filbert, Don't overload the brush with paint and work the paint in well and quickly!
Steve

rickoshea52

SMF Supporter
First Name
Rick
The tutorials section is a good place to start.

Jakko

Way past the mad part
SMF Supporter
First Name
Jakko
how do you paint large pieces (say like a car body, ship side, aircraft wing etc) without leaving brush marks in the paint?
Smartarse answer: by spraying it :smiling3:

That doesn’t necessarily mean with an airbrush — if you’re got a model of a civilian car, you could get an aerosol with the real car’s colour, for example, and use that. For military subjects, you can also buy spraying cans from model paint manufacturers, with military, naval, or aeronautic colours in them.

spanner570

SALAD DODGER
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ron
Sorry Steve, I missed this.

As the original question was about brush marks, here's my method.