CA glue for PE?

J

Jens Andrée

Due to having access to dirt cheap bog standard Loctite CA glue that's what I've been using around the house for many years.
It's now been giving me all sorts of problems for the last three models I've built that's got a fair bit of PE parts and I'm now throwing in the towel and will buy something better.

Which CA glue are you using for PE (PE on plastic and PE on PE) that you claim is the best?

Bigger PE parts I solder to other PE parts but smaller parts not so much...

Many thanks in advance!

A

Airfix Modeller Freak

I use the ZAP medium Ca glue used commonly by modellers. Great stuff.
Mind you, the loctite stuff has it's uses, so don't scrap it
The ZAP has a opaque bottle and a green label

Last edited by a moderator:
J

Jens Andrée

Cheers for the recommendation!

I won't chuck out the Loctite stuff because it has its uses, but not for gluing PE. Not for me anyway.
Will have a look to see if I can find ZAP medium somewhere local?

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
I use bod standard Danalim superglue. I find that it helps a great deal to wipe the parts with rubbing alcohol (IPA) first. CA and finger grease not good.
I find also that the cheap stuff is as good as any of the "special" modelling stuff.
As an alternative, have you tried gorilla grip glue. slower setting time and cleans up with water while wet...Great for overlays. not good for assembling though.

PS do you know where and when the C4 open is this year...

J

Jens Andrée

I use bod standard Danalim superglue. I find that it helps a great deal to wipe the parts with rubbing alcohol (IPA) first. CA and finger grease not good.
I find also that the cheap stuff is as good as any of the "special" modelling stuff.
As an alternative, have you tried gorilla grip glue. slower setting time and cleans up with water while wet...Great for overlays. not good for assembling though.