Colours and kit for first build

D

Deisenaut

Hi everyone - first post here and new to modelling. Im 34 and getting an Academy 1:72 B-17F Flying Fortress Memphis Belle for christmas, and also i'm not meant to know. The thing is that the 1 model shop in town will probably be closed through the whole of Christmas so I need to stock up in advance - this is my first build. My aim is realistic and weathered - not sure at all on paints to use, colours, the bit about painting it with something after the colour painting is complete and also after the decals (and also tying this in with weathering) - not sure about id I should use Matt or Enamel but personally prefer a matt colour. What i'd like is info if anyone has built this model, what type of paint and colours, what other kit I should buy in advance such as liquid plastic cement, glue, brush sizes. - Oh yeah, the other thing is that it will be brush painted. The shop wont let me open the box unless i'm buying so dont even have access to colour chart. Thanks very much!

BarryW

SMF Supporter
First Name
Barry
I did a quick google of this model and found the following sites, reviews and builds with completed kit photos.

That will give you some idea of what you need.