Diorama Advice 1/35

First Name
Robert
HI all, just wanting some advice for a diorama I have in mind at the moment. At present I'm building a 1/35 Dragon Hetzer, and want to do a diorama ( "laying in wait") with the Hetzer partially concealed in a hay bail/ stack ( have the model for the hay build.

What I have found out through ref is Hetzers were used on all fronts 1944. I'm thinking of a country road junction with the hetzer with hay and possible French/ German country building/ barn and behind all that a few soldiers resting etc maybe a motorcycle or other vehicle. However can't seem to get the base started or find the buildings. In my stash I have a selection of german soldiers in 1/35 scale so I can sort that out but what do I start the base off with ( wood what type ? ) making the country road etc ( base to start moulding ? Putty or clay?

It's like I know what I want but I have never built a diorama from scratch before and the wife says " not too big"

So help please if possible

Thanks Robert

eddiesolo

It's a modelling time!
SMF Supporter
First Name
Si.
First off Robert, do you have any other models that you could do a small base? That way you can get a feel for what to do and how to position etc. Not wanting to put you off this dio as it sounds superb but your question seems to be that you are lost before you even start...so a larger dio may not be the way to go, a smaller base may help you.

Si:smiling3:

First Name
Robert
\ said:
First off Robert, do you have any other models that you could do a small base? That way you can get a feel for what to do and how to position etc. Not wanting to put you off this dio as it sounds superb but your question seems to be that you are lost before you even start...so a larger dio may not be the way to go, a smaller base may help you.
Si:smiling3:
Hi SI thanks for the imput. I have a couple of tanks I built ages ago ( wirbelwinFlak ) and a Stug) and a few more not finished yet ( tiger 1 )