Future, introduction for a Newbie

D

dmest13

hi,  im new to this artcraft.  so, any and all help and info. is appreciated.  i'm  really having a hell of a good time since i've started painting my tanks and artillery pieces.  o'm having trouble figuring out how materials work together, and on which order to do things toward painting and weathering.  Specifically, i'm trying to find this Future stuff that everyone uses.  How specific within the Pledge Floor Care product line do i have to be to ensure i get the right thing?   i got Pledge cleaner floor care multipurpôse cleaner.  i'm not sure if i've got the right thing.  i'm attachimg a photo.  thank you all for your time...future.jpg

D

dubster72

Hi David

This is the stuff we get in the UK

21KqoHiY66L.jpg

But as you're in the US, it may well be branded differently.

A good source of information on the various brands & uses of this product is here

http://www.swannysmodels.com/TheCompleteFuture.html

For a protective clear coat, most brands are good. All the main modelling brands carry a type of gloss coat; Vallejo, Humbrol, Testors etc. Go for an acrylic one as these are much more friendly to use & far less likely to cause problems with existing paint - unlike lacquer based products.

The usual sequence for application is:

Primer, paint, gloss coat, decals, gloss over decals (or entire model), wash, matt coat, weathering, final matt coat to seal everything in.

Not everyone follows all these steps - it depends on personal preference & what's being built.

D

dmest13

thanks for the info.  i think i may have the wrong thing.   is there any way to tell based on it's physical properties?  do oils have to go on gloss to behave correctly?  or acrylic, or vice versa?  there also does not seem to be a niversal thinner for enamels or acrylics.   i have to stay w/in the manufacturer's product?the oil enames wont perform correctly on testors dullcote, for example?  

dave

SMF Supporter
First Name
Dave