Good kits, bad kits.

R

Rigger100472

Hi, any advice on the best aircraft kits and the ones to avoid.

peterairfix

SMF Supporter
First Name
peter
My worst kit would be the airfix 1\24 spit well outdated as I have just spent six months beating into something looking like a spitfire.
The best I have done is the revell 1\32 Me 262 night fighter.

R

Rigger100472

I meant manufacturers, I have seen one I fancy but it's by hasagawa and never heard of them before. Are there any manufacturers I should avoid.

peterairfix

SMF Supporter
First Name
peter
Can of worms time I think it a difficult one to answer as with all manufacturer's they have their good kits and bad kits,but I not heard any thing bad about hasagawa.

J

John Rixon

A lot of it is more to do with new kits or old kits, for instance, most Tamiya kits are excellent, but the really old ones will give a total beginner some issues. Having said this, I've just bought a fairly new Kitty Hawk F101, and it beggars belief how awful it is...

rickoshea52

SMF Supporter
First Name
Rick
Hasegawa are generally good, I've built three over the last few years and been happy with them, 1/72 F-14, 1/48 Phantom and 1/200 Poseidon.
I bought a Kitty Hawk 1/48 Jaguar then heard horror stories about it and sold it sharpish.
Most of the new tool Airfix is really good but as with all kits there are always grumbles.
Try looking at Scalemates.com to see what is out there and if it has a review. What did you have in mind anyway?

Last edited:
J

John Rixon

Hasegawa are generally good, I've built three over the last few years and been happy with them, 1/72 F-14, 1/48 Phantom and 1/200 Poseidon.
I bought a Kitty Hawk 1/48 Jaguar then heard horror stories about it and sold it sharpish.
Most of the new tool Airfix is really good but as with all kits there are always grumbles.
Try looking at Scalemates.com to see what is out there and if it has a review. What did you have in mind anyway?