Grey primer

V

Vekiq

Hi All,

I have posted few times and its questions, questions and more questions, sorry about that guys, but hopefully i will get to the stage where i will be able to offer some advice, i am still learning :smiling3:

Should i use grey primer (or different one) if i am to handbrush with enamel paints?

Cheers

D

dubster72

Hey don't worry about the questions! For the guys on here, it's a pleasure to help & we all need to ask stuff, no matter how experienced we are. Personally, I wouldn't bother priming before using enamels. This is because I've found them to 'flow' better than oils or acrylics & they cover any surface better too.

What I would always advise is to wash whatever is to be painted in warm soapy water first. This isn't just to remove skin oils that may have been deposited during construction but also the 'mould release' agents used at the factory. They can cause all kinds of problems with paint, often a 'cracked/crazy paving' look that only shows when the paint is dry! :censored2

All the best Patrick

C

Caledonia

Hi again, As Patrick says above, enamels usually go on O.K. without primer, but I always use a primer as it shows up all those errors and gives you a chance to correct them if necessary. But it's down to personnel preference like most things.

If you search this site, you will see a lot of people use a Halford Primer with great success. I have no experience of this, I use Tamiya Fine Surface Primer, it comes in grey and white, I tend to use the white, as the first time I used the grey, it was a near perfect match for the Trumpeter Kits grey plastic I was building, so it was difficult to see.

All the best Derek

R

radish1us

Here's something to think about when next using a primer, firstly most people grab for a GREY primer, NOW WHY USE THIS COLOUR ?

Grey, is made from the two most violent colours in the colour spectrum, ie, black and white, so why use it at all ?