Have I opened up a can of worms?!

F

Fest

Hi all,

I just wanted to do some research before I started with my 3 f1 cars I want to build. Previous airplane models I have only painted with a brush. Yet I’ve read quite a few posts on here that a lot of people use airbrushes to paint your kits. Is this something I should strongly consider as I have no experience at all with airbrushing nor would have the faintest idea about what to get and how to mix the paint so it could be sprayed?

Any views and/or opinions would be welcome here to help me decide what I should do.

stona

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
An airbrush is not a panacea which will solve all painting problems. Some people achieve superb results with a good old hairy stick. However you can achieve effects and finishes with an airbrush which can't be achieved by brushing. There are also some products,like the Alclad metal finishes,which are designed for and can only be used with an airbrush.

If you are going to continue modelling then I would suggest that an airbrush would be a useful investment. The initial cost of a set up is relatively high but the kit should last for years.

There is certainly no need to be apprehensive about your ability to use an airbrush. It is a fairly simple tool to use. Like anything else you will need to practice. You will also need to work out the airbrush and various paint/thinner combinations that work for you. This isn't rocket science and you'll find plenty of helpful and friendly advice here.

Cheers

Steve

C

CDW

I'm one of those who uses the hairy stick and have only used a cheap airbrush to spray washes over large areas like buildings etc.

I can see the need for an airbrush when painting cars and aircraft though as its hard to get a blemish free finish. and as Steve says the are effects that an airbrush make far simpler.

B

Boldman