My evil plan begins...

M

Major Catastrophe

my evil master plan has begun to take shape...

http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&alt=web&id=271676301857

It's a H.M.S. York Type 42 Destroyer Batch 3 Dragon #7055 in 1/700 scale.

I had the pleasure of serving on HMS Manchester between 1994 & 1996, it was easily the best ship I've ever served on and I have some very fond memories. Hopefully I can do her justice.

One memory I have of her is a standing start 'race' with the new Sheffield (type 22) when we were deployed to the Persian Gulf together. There was much hype as the Sheff was then newer and boasted of its speed. I'm no propulsion expert, but we must have cheated in some way because we literally 'dropped a cog' and left the Sheffield standing! It felt like the Manch was fully wound up just before the start, maybe changing pitch on propeller or something to give an almighty kick. Any propulsion experts on here?

The other ships I've served on were HMS Birmingham (briefly) HMS Ark Royal, HMS Illustrious, HMS Fearless and a two month stint on HMS Ocean (how was I to know my naval career would have such an adverse affect on my model-making wallet?)

I'm planning to log my experience in a work in progress post

L

Laurie

Liked to have been on board the Manchester during the speed trial Rich. Must have been exciting.

Do they have a standing start or sail side by side at slow speed neck and neck until the start point ?

Look forward to seeing your stuff. Sailor ;)

Laurie

PS what position did you have in your last ship ?

M

Major Catastrophe

I was part of the Flight Deck crew on the Ark Royal, Air Operations on the Illustrious and Aircraft Controller for the Manchester, Fearless & Ocean.