Question on a Revell Kit

M

mawallace

Please forgive me as I am a bit of an beginner.

I am making the Revell Boeing 737-800 TUIfly „GoldbAIR“ Kit - 04268 -0389 and am confused at one of the paint steps.

The question I have is Paint L.

Does this man that you want us to:-

1. Paint the part with "371" and then , once dry

2. Paint over it with a 95% mix of "2" and 5% mix of "85"?

I attach a picture of the step in question is it helps to answer the question.View attachment 56418

View attachment 58489

paint.jpg

For me is more like for example 10ml of 371, 9.5 ml of 2 and 0.5ml 85.

First Name
Dave
Revell are telling you to mix some of their range of paints together to get the colour you need.Thats because they don't sell the colour you need and want you to use their paints.Your better off buying a colour from another manufacturers range that is close to the colour you need.Much cheaper than buying several paints to mix together as we'll.

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
Not to sure that the above advise is correct.

It might help a bit if you could show or tell the part that is to be painted this way.

I too read it as that you paint it first in the grey colour then once that has dried and had time to cure, paint over it with the mix of 95% clear varnish 5%brown. With those proportions of varnish and paint, it will be a very clear tinted coat of paint and I think the idea is that you should be able to see the base coat through it...

Ian M

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
Having found a photo of this aircraft, I am pretty sure that you are on the right track. The fuselage is a golden brown colour. I know the 'plain well.

You would get a good effect by painting the bits they say grey, Silver instead then painting the brown over that. I seem to recall it being a golden brown candy paint.

Ian M

First Name
Dave