Soooo...Resin Kits anyone?

J

John Rixon

With reference to the Armoured Car GB, I've been sniffing around Saladins, and it seems I have 3 options. Tamiya, which, by all accounts is a dog. Dragon, which I like, but think that even at discount, is a bit pricey, cosidering that its a simple (for Dragon) model, or resin. Now, I've always thought of resin kits as being for big boys, you know, folks that think nothing of making dozens of tiny parts to replace the dreadful kit parts kind of thing. So what I'm asking is, what is the collective knowledge of these things - £45 buys me a 1/35th Firing Line Saladin, and it looks good from the pictures I've seen so far. The small part count appeals to me, to be honest, I just love painting them! But I have no idea if I'm experienced enough to try one, and my last foray into the unknown didn't go well (Diamond Wrecker). I am, however, telling myself that cleaning up 20 or so major parts pales into insignificance alongside hundreds of parts (over 550, to be more precise). Am I dreaming?

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
A modern production resin kit is no harder to build than a regular plastic kit. The detail I normally very good and size and shape are also normally spot on. You most remember that many of them, the masters are built by a devoted modeller that is more into accuracy than earning a fortune.

tool wise you might need to get a few extra things. A good razor saw for cutting the casting block off, some wet and dry paper for sanding. A good filler. Not that the fit is bad, but air bubbles can pop up sometimes and need a dab of filler. Also a good super glue and some form of applicator is a good idea. You can use arildit epoxy, but it takes to long mix and set.