thinning model vallejo paint ???? help plz

monica

“When there's no more room in hell, the dead will
SMF Supporter
First Name
monica
hello all,

this maybe a silly thing to ask, how much thinning dose Vallejo model paint take to be

able to use in an AB,as its very thick,

and i dont wont to be spending like 5 hrs trying to clean the thing,

so in paint to thinner, ?p/ ?t please

any help greatly appreciated,

First Name
Dave
I thinned about 50/50 i can't say if that's correct as i am relatively new to AB but it sprayed fine for me no blockages .

Dave

BarryW

SMF Supporter
First Name
Barry
50:50 for Model Colour Monica. But do experiment using that as a starting point by spraying 'off model' first. You can spray MC but some colours are more problematical. I would suggest moving to Vallejo Model Air as they spray superbly.

monica

SMF Supporter
First Name
monica
ta Dave i will give that a shot ,and see how it go,s ,like wise ,mostly only undercoat with AB,:confused:

ta Barry, most of my paints are model air but a few are model color,like my silver,brass ,gold,copper, and flesh,

I will give it a shot like i said to Dave,and fingers crossed lol, :D

and you guessed it right there the ones i need for miss she hunter,:confused: :rolleyes: ;)

and i do real wont to buy again ,as i did try once and 5 hrs later had the thing unclogged, :oops:

D

dubster72

Good luck Moni! I hate spraying with Vallejo, it's never worked for me :sad:

dave

SMF Supporter
First Name
Dave
50:50 for Model colour works fine for me with a 0.35mm nozzle. I haven't tried the metallic colours through the airbrush but I would suspect from experience that they are coarser and may require more thinning or a 0.50mm nozzle.

Vaughan

SMF Supporter
First Name
Vaughan
\ said: