Why do certain paints leave a streak...?

F

flyerscales

I'm curious as to why certain colors will streak with each brush stroke, and others will not? For example. I am working on a P38 and the cockpit floor comes out of the package black. I wanted to paint the floor with a green color to replicate its past, however, the paint streaks. Now, every time I have used an Aluminum color, it goes on perfect. Streak free! Is there something I am missing? I have just purchased the kit yesterday, and I have washed the pieces down with warm water and some dish detergent. That's as far as I have got. I appreciate your advice. Also, I am a complete beginner with modeling. My goal is to produce realistic authentications of vintage and modern aircraft. I have a lot to learn still. Thanks again! I appreciate it.

yak face

Wossupwidee?
Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
tony
hi and welcome to the forum, did you stir the paint thoroughly? i dont want to sound patronising but it could just be that, if you did then maybe its just the type of paint youre using.Let us know what it is and well be able to better adviseon what to do, for example some paints (ie tamiya acrylics ) are very difficult to brush,being more suited to airbrushing, but others such as humbrol enamels , the vallejo range or even the games workshop acrylics are fine for brushing. Sometimes it also helps to put a thin coat of primer on first ,as even after washing the parts some plastics are still very shiny/ slippery and cause problems with paint adhesion. Anything youre not sure about dont hesitate to ask ,theres a wealth of knowledge on here and always someone to offer advice, its the friendliest site around ! hope this helps , cheers tony

F

flyerscales