Airfix 1:72 Douglas C-47 Skytrain

A

AceAndroid

Hi everyone! This is the third model that I have ever built. I thought I'd do a progress thread, since I am still a newbie and might have lots of questions along the way. And heck, it might be fun to show it off, too.

I painted the inside with some craft acrylics, and I think it turned out pretty well. I hand-mixed all the colors to try and match the suggested Humbrol paints.

Here is a nice side view before I put the fuselage together. (I accidentally snapped off the steering wheel shaft on the right side here....But hey, who needs a co-pilot, anyway?)

c47Side.png

c47Cockpit.png

The control panel:

control.png

Here is the troop section:

c47InteriorBulkhead.png

Here it is with the fuselage put together (more or less):

exterior.png

The fuselage was so hard to put together because it was so big. I had a hard time holding it together while it dried. So a lot of the seams look like garbage:

ickiness2.png

Then at the bottom the plastic never seemed to dry after using the glue. It was just like putty.

ickiness.png

I don't have any putty and have never used it before, but I might have to try it to fix the seams. There are parts where there are holes, and other parts where I need to sand. I'm hoping I can fix this, as the C-47 is my dream kit. Everything else looked great up until this point! :sad:

c47SideClose.png

Last edited:
A

AceAndroid

Wow, I don't know why that last image is there...but now I can't edit it any longer. Sorry about that.

D

dubster72

That's coming together very nicely. I've a soft spot for the Dakota, it was the 1st plane I ever flew in aged 11. Although landing in an unpressurised aircraft was painful!

It's a bit late now, but if you're going to build anything with a large fuselage invest in some Tamiya Extra Thin cement or similar. You can then tape or clamp the halves together & run the cement into the seams. It avoids the problems you're encountered already.

A

AceAndroid