Andy T's Tamiya 1/48 Fairey Swordfish Mkll

Andy T

SMF Supporter
First Name
Andy
Thanks for having me in this Group Build. I've never built a biplane before so I've gone for what should hopefully be a fairly safe option. There's certainly plenty of video builds to look at if I get stuck somewhere, although they all seem to take a different approach so I might be better just trying to figure out my own way.

1000005740.jpg

Sprue shots, including the additional PE set:

1000005952.jpg

1000005953.jpg

1000005954.jpg

I'm not 100% decided but I'll probably build this with the wings extended, include the crew, and paint it with the sky lower half.

We'll see how it goes with the finer rigging but I'll certainly make an attempt at it.

yak face

Wossupwidee?
Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
tony
Lovely jubbly andy. A great aircraft and by all accounts a superb kit , reasonably sized too . Cheers tony

Andy T

SMF Supporter
First Name
Andy
A rigging set in the kit! Good on you Tamiya!
It's actually an optional extra detail pack. I'm slightly worried that it says "for experts" on it :smiling5:

I had a good few hours on this today, starting with the cockpit as most aircraft builds do.

1000006025.jpg

I got the floor painted in silver, then masked it up and gave it all the parts a coat of primer then MRP interior green. I made the mask myself, first applying some tape lightly then rubbing a pencil over it to show up the detail (like the brass rubbing I did back in school). I then cut it out with a fresh blade and a leather punch.

1000006031.jpg

1000006032.jpg

1000006033.jpg

I've already had my first mishap. I dropped this assembly onto the floor and then stood on it, bending the delicate struts at all angles and breaking off the rudder pedals! I've bent it back into something like the correct shape but it'll need some fettling when I get around to assembly.

1000006034.jpg

adt70hk

I know its a bit sad but I like quickbuild kits!!!
SMF Supporter
First Name