Best Manufacturer

B

Bux

Hi everyone. I am in the middle of an airfix 1/24 stuka and i'm finding that i'm having to do a lot of filling/sanding and encountering a few fit issues! I also have a tamiya Tiger 1 which i haven't started yet, but which looks a lot better quality.

This got me wondering, and here i am! Who is your favourite manufacturer??. Let me know and in a few weeks i'll pool results and post the winner. Please note, not your favourite model or scale, but your favourite manufacturer and why??

Time to scratch your head!

Last edited:

spanner570

SALAD DODGER
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ron
Welcome bux....Italeri, b*****d to fit together, but cheap and cheerful with good detail, and with a bit of patience a good end result.

:cheers:

Ron

D

dubster72

I'm not that experienced with too many brands but I'd vote for Tamiya. They may not be as detailed as Dragon but I like their build quality, lack of flash & the fit of parts is excellent. Also the instructions are clear & easy to follow. Very easy to do a great OOB build. Patrick

djellis10

djellis10
????

i would have to say tamiya have better casting and fit to their models but i would have to go for dragon for so much more option and detail you get. i have yet to try a trumpeter AFV kit, anygood anyone??

Gern

'Stashitis' victim
SMF Supporter
First Name
Dave
I've tried a limited number of kits from Tamiya, Dragon and Trumpeter and found them all to be excellent. However, my finances mean I have to shop in the Italeri and Revell bracket. I've got lots of both and while they may not be up to the same standard as the big three, I'd be hard pushed to choose between them.

There is another issue for me though. Being a fairly new modeller with lots still to learn, I can't build to the same skill level that Tamiya etc produce to, if you see what I mean. I'm frightened to start some of their kits 'cos I know I won't be able to do them justice.