Brush, Aerosol or Airbrush?

J

Jay_Moz

Hi All, I'm just starting out in the modelling world and I'm unsure what approach to take with painting.

I have had one previous go at modelling in which I brush painted the main body of the aircraft. The finish was not brilliant so I have been looking into the possibility of purchasing an Airbrush and compressor. However I have also noticed that you can buy Aerosol paints that are considerably cheaper.

So the big question is, what would you recommend?

stona

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
I'm not a fan of aerosol paints which leaves either brush painting or airbrushing.

There are some fine brush painters around who achieve tremendous finishes this way.

I'm not one of them and have been airbrushing for many years. I still brush paint detail,figures etc.

I believe that airbrushing is the way to go for most sorts of modelling but some will disagree. It is not as difficult as some would have you believe,decent results can be achieved fairly quickly though,like anything else,technique develops with practice.

Cheers

Steve

john

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
First Name
John
Aerosols are only cheaper if you don't use much, I use aerosol primers and varnish but for painting I use my airbrush, you would be surprised how much you can cover with for example a Vallejo 17ml bottle of modelair

First Name
Chris
Coming from someone who only started modelling again about 4 years ago I'd go with the airbrush. I brush painted my first 5 or 6 aircraft and unless you're a brush painting genius (I'm not) the finish was just dire compared to even my first attempt at airbrushing. I have great respect for those who can get great results with a brush.

Regards

Chris

T

tecdes

Hi Jay