Designers who wanted something different-Payen & Bugatti.

wonwinglo

SMF Supporter
First Name
Barry
Two revolutionery aviation designs from yesteryear-

10ababc30.jpg

Payen PA100 .

Roland Payen was a true pioneer who had great imagination and an eye for the un-usual,his great drive was not always appreciated as he was light years ahead of others,he was a very accomplished designer and inventor who loved his work.

The Payen 100 is but only one design by this great inventor.

10d35b920.jpg

Bugatti 100 Racer.

The Bugatti Model 100 airplane was designed in 1937 by Louis D. de Monge a Belgian aviation pioneer.

The design came about at the request of Ettore Bugatti, a self-taught automobile engineer and designer. Bugatti became famous for building cars, racing engines, railcars, helicopter blades, automotive tooling, crankshaft for Hispano-Suiza aircraft engines and many other innovative automotive and aviation related components.

When Bugatti contacted de Mong in 1937, his goal was to compete in the famous "Coupe Deutch" air race and ultimately break the world speed record.

The Bugatti was originally designed for one engine and a single propeller. Shortly after the initial sketch was made, the design was revised to include a second engine, located behind the first one, and a second, counter-rotating propeller.