Dry brushing with Vallejo

Valeron

SMF Supporter
First Name
Mike
Hi

As many of you will know I'm pretty new to all of this and only really started in January.

I've been brush painting al my models using Vallejo model colours. I use thinned down paint (with tap water) and find that it flows and covers really easily.

But I've recently started to try the dry brushing technique. I've read up on this, watched videos etc.

I load the paint brush up with paint, scrape excess off on the palette, then remove more by painting on a sheet until there is hardly any paint showing.

I then dry brush. I find that the paint drys on the brush so quickly that I'm having to reload the brush after each brush stroke.

Most of the videos I've seen regarding dry brushing refer to emails or oils so I was wondering if other people dry brush with Vallejo model colours?

It's probably just me struggling with this technique but would be interested in people's thoughts and experience.

slupanter

SMF Supporter
First Name
Alexander
Hey,

Dry brushing is always a building-up technique where you move from hardly there to OMG, what have I do. I find having a little pot in package form in it with a few drops of water on can help keep the paint and brush just humid enough to layer up your effect.

BarryW

SMF Supporter
First Name
Barry
Water based paint like Vallejo does not work as well as enamels for dry brushing. You can make it work.

I, however, no longer do dry brushing with paints at all. I use pigments and metal powders.

In fact I always use Uschi Metal Powders when dry brushing a surface that is meant to be metal. It gives painted plastic a really good painted metal look while highlighting details. It ‘sticks’ in places, raised detail, where the paint would be worn and chipped.

Other coloured pigments are useful elsewhere. A dirt or dust pigment on tyres or on cockpit floors for instance.

Mark1

SMF Supporter
First Name
Mark