Hello from Wagga

Cogez88

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jordan
Hi everyone,

I'm a relatively new scale modeler, and I'm enjoying the challenge of learning how to create realistic models.

I've recently finished the 30th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall Trabant set, and my 5yo son and I completed an Airfix-brand tank set. Now I'm working on the Revell Horton Go 229 set, and I've been having a lot of fun with the details. I've learned a lot about how to assemble and paint the model, and I'm happy with how it's turning out so far, although I've got questions!! My son and I are working on a little Millenium Falcon, which has been fun - painting the details is fiddly, but good practice for us both. I've put up some pictures so you can see where we're at.

I've also made some mistakes along the way. For example, I glued the Trabant steering wheel on 90 degrees down and had to separate it and re-do it. And I didn't test fit the major parts before I assembled everything, and it wouldn't fit together neatly.

I'm not afraid to admit my mistakes, and I'm actually glad that I made them. I learned a lot from them, and I'm a better modeler because of them. I'm hoping that some of the more experienced modelers on this forum can give me some tips on how to improve my skills. I'm particularly interested in learning how to create get the 1%-ers right... like the big gap in the bonnet of the Trabant, or getting the chrome pieces to sit nicely!

Thanks in advance for your help!
Cogez88

Attachments

• IMG_0809.jpg
    IMG_0809.jpg
    294.5 KB · Views: 18
  • IMG_0810.jpg
    IMG_0810.jpg
    303.7 KB · Views: 18
  • IMG_0811.jpg
    IMG_0811.jpg
    355.2 KB · Views: 17
  • IMG_0812.jpg
    IMG_0812.jpg
    204.8 KB · Views: 18
  • IMG_0813.jpg
    IMG_0813.jpg
    185.9 KB · Views: 18

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
Dare I say it?
G'day mate. Welcome to the forum.

David Lovell

SMF Supporter
First Name
David