HMS Victory,My Rigging Sequence for an English First Rate Ship of the Line.

J

JohnReid

During the many years that I spend building Victory I kept a day to day log of the building sequence, including the standing and running rigging.During the time that I was researching the rigging I found lots of information but most of it was quite confusing as to the actual sequence of how to get it up in the right order.I was quite amazed that in the end the following sequence really worked for me .There was only a couple of minor lines that were not belayed at the foot of the main mast but because of accessibility issues I had to belay them to the shroud cleats instead.Not bad when you consider that I was a beginner at this and secured each line down permanently as I went along,which could have been a disaster.

It has been 10 years since I finished Victory and many more since I researched it.There may be much more information out there on this subject today that I am not aware of and if so please advise me if I would be wasting my time in doing this.Cheers! John.

J

JohnReid

Well I guess things have not changed that much for the beginner.I remember just how confused I was when I first started to learn about rigging a ship.Luckily I kept a log of the rigging sequence that I used for Victory which really seemed to work out well for me.I just turned 68 years old, so before I head for the "happy hunting ground" and someone tosses it in the dumpster, I might as well pass it on to other beginners out there.

Although the following describes Victory it could be used, in whole or in part for any other square rigged man-of-war of the era.