I'm new to modelling. Where do I start?

O

os40

I've made one model so far and it looks pathetic.

I'm currently making a Eurofighter Typhoon. It looks okay, but I messed up the canopy. It tried to wet and dry smooth it but it looks scratched. Also it isn't smooth around the edges. I don't know what to do with it.

I also am struggling LOTS with the paints. I have ordered some Tamiya paints from eBay for a decent price so I hope using better paints will improve the quality of the model, instead of using the terrible supplied Airfix paints...

Is there like some kind of 'basic' checklist for a modeller tool kit? I see many of you here have airbrushes. I'm a 21 year old student who simply cannot afford to spend £150 on a airbrushing kit with compressor :P

For the main body, I would prefer to use an aerosol can, and then try to paint fine details using brush. But I'm so bad at it, and it looks awful. I'll post pics of my current model in a while.

But yes, I'm mainly looking for advice here on painting.

Lastly, how do I give the model a nice 'FINISH' after applying the decals? I don't want the decals to stick our like a sore thumb. On my previous model, its the decals look like they were pasted on. I see some pictures here and they look seamless with the paintjob.

A

AdamM

Hello and welcome.

Firstly regarding the paints, Tamiya do make some good quality paints and are much better in my opinion than Humbrol and Airfix.

Checklist, i dont use an airbrush (being 18 and a student like yourself, i can not afford one) so i use Tamiya aerosol cans, i find they provide a good finish. I would also make sure you have the following, Stanley knife (good for cutting out decals etc) tweezers, good for holding the decals in the water, pliers for snapping off the components and a nail file for smoothing out any imperfections with the components.

For the body shell of my kits i use nothing but an aerosol to apply the paint, at a budget price it provides the best finish.