newbie question but bet it's been asked before

T

thunderace

hello guys,

i have done a search and slowly i am starting to understand the scale in modelling. i bought a model tank 1:72 scale and that is tiny, the model is about 4-5 inches and that is only by site. i realy dont understand the scale in relevance to visually having a model in front of me.

BTW this is a font of knowledge for a total beginner like me.

many thanks,

bri

A

alan2525

Hi,

It's always good to see new members on the forums!

Scale is expressed as a ratio, so in 1/72 scale, 1 foot would equate to 72 feet in reality!

These are some of the scales model kits are often available in and the height of a figure in each scale:

Scale Model Figure Size

1:72 25mm

1:48 37.5mm

1:45 40mm

1:35 51.4mm

1:32 54mm

1:24 75mm

1:20 90mm

Typically 1:72 models are very small and is the typical scale used for cheaper plastic kits. Larger aircraft types in 1/72 still make for a reasonable sized model - a lancaster or such in this scale will give a wingspan of around 400mm (16 inches)

Models of smaller fighter aircraft are normally 1:72 or 1:48, 1:48 makes for a larger model with much more detail, for example a WW2 Spitfire in 1:48 will be approx 200mm (8 inches) wingspan and much more impressive than it's 1:72 equivalent.

1:35 is the scale most widely used for model tanks, Armed Fighting vehicles, in this scale figures are large enough to be nicely detailed and painted, they can also carry detailed equipment, weapons etc.

1:24 and 1:20 are often used for model cars, rally cars, racing cars etc. Because cars are much smaller than tanks - a larger scale is used to still enable the completed model to be a reasonable size.

Hope that helps!

B

Bunkerbarge