Newbie - Revell 458 Italia - How do I paint window detail?

O

Olly

Hi, I'm a newbie so sorry if this is in the wrong forum.

I am in the middle of building my 458 Italia and it's coming along well. This is my first model since I was 12, and lets just say that was "some time ago". I am trying my best to avoid the mistakes I made all those years ago.

I am currently at the stage where I need to work on the glass. My question is around painting the window rubbers and black edging on the glass itself. The kit has etched areas of glass that would take the black paint. My question is "how do I do it neatly?" the window etching done by Revell is perfect, but how do I make it black? I have tried masking it, but finding it tricky to do neatly. Are there any secret / special techniques you guys can tell me that might help?

Feeling a little frustrated, as everything else is coming along really nicely except this :o (

Thanks in advance,

Olly.

yak face

Wossupwidee?
Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
tony
Hi olly welcome to the forum. If youre wanting to get a neat edge , possibly curved too , then strips of Tamiya tape or similar should be fine. Are you painting the black on the inside of the clear part ? If the edge is curved quite tightly on the corners then it really helps to cut the tape into thin strips 2 or 3 mmm wide as these will bend round the corners easier. You can cut the tape with a steel rule , just stick it on a piece of glass or an old ceramic tile and cut into thin strips. If it helps post us a picture of the part youre doing , hopefully someone better qualified than me (ie ,someone who does cars!) might have a better solution , hope this helps , cheers tony

First Name
Jason