Poly cement expiration

D

dragos

Hello everybody, this is my first post here.

I've just started a new plastic model kit after a pause of several years (I'm a beginner), and I have a tube of Humbrol poly cement that I used back then. I suppose it's about 7 or 8 years old. I don't see any expiration date on the box or on the tube. Should I still use it or has its properties altered?

This is the kind of cement I am talking about:

e4021rx8.jpg

Best regards

Dragos

N

new to trains

so long as the tube is unused it should be ok... the active ingredient is the solvent, usually a MEK style solvent, this will if left open slowly evapourate away....

my recomendation is get some new cement or even some plasweld instead......

if you really cant bring yourself to throw this away do a test to see how effective the cement still is.... break off two parts of sprue ( the frame that holds the model parts) and bond them together with the cement.... you will then be able to see if its any good......

wonwinglo

SMF Supporter
First Name
Barry
Dragos,I have used really old tubes of poly cement and provided the seal has been tight then it should still be fine,as Guy has pointed out the main solvent can dry out leaving a somewhat thick gel in the tube,do a test piece first to see what happens on some sprue from a kit.

D

dragos

Thanks for the answers!

The tube was used but it is not dry. I glued several pieces and it works well, it only seems to dry faster once applied, than it used to.

A

alan2525

If the poly cement still flows ok from the tube it sounds like the solvent hasn't evapourated so it should work fine.

On the subject of glues expiring - whats the best method of storing superglue? It irritated me when I purchased some Pacer Slo Zap and after about a month it's now unuseable as it's all stringy and thick!