Scale engine sound generator

R

ray

Hi everyone in this forum, this is my first post, so forgive me if it's a daft question and in the wrong area.

I'm new to modeling and would love to build a decent scale model WW1 plane.

However, the flying scale models I have seen are (to my mind) let down by the sound of the engine (even 4 strokes sound to me more like a moped !)

I have searched the net for an aero-engine synthesizer to fit to a scale model but no joy so far. -Has anyone ever produced a small & light enough loudspeaker system to fit in a 'plane ??

My idea would be to "sample" a real engine, run it from an audio chip & sync the frequency to the motor revs.

Has anyone tried it ??

Any sugestions, ideas, greatfully received

Ray

wonwinglo

SMF Supporter
First Name
Barry
*** Hello and welcome Ray,I dont want to appear to be putting a negative answer to this idea however I just cannot see it working ? a lot of the noise from model engines emitts from the propeller,also the bark from the silencer would need some taming,people have experimented with baffle arrangements or mouse add ons to curb that awful din,if the initial sound source could be cured then I know a man who makes sound modules electronically activated,if you crack this one then you are on the way to becoming a wealthy man !

Hi everyone in this forum, this is my first post, so forgive me if it's a daft question and in the wrong area.I'm new to modeling and would love to build a decent scale model WW1 plane.

However, the flying scale models I have seen are (to my mind) let down by the sound of the engine (even 4 strokes sound to me more like a moped !)

I have searched the net for an aero-engine synthesizer to fit to a scale model but no joy so far. -Has anyone ever produced a small & light enough loudspeaker system to fit in a 'plane ??

My idea would be to "sample" a real engine, run it from an audio chip & sync the frequency to the motor revs.

Has anyone tried it ??