Single or Double action?

john

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
First Name
John
Which do you prefer? single or double action airbrush?

I've got a Iwata Hi-Line HP-BH, which is a nice airbrush and has a mac valve which I've never used and the pre-set handle which I rarely use, I started a Mustang yesterday and have primed it and give it a coat of white which went on fine but I do find now and again I get a bit of splatter which is annoying to say the least, so I thought I would give the Revolution M-2 a try, it has a .4mm needle and a 7ml cup (M-1 .3mm & a 1.5ml cup).

It's my first time with a single action and I wasn't sure what to expect, it has a pre-set handle and as I had a large area to spray I opened it up, I must say I was surprisingly surprised, I sprayed quite a bit and not once did it splutter and the finish was quite good, the only downside about the airbrush was the needle is fixed in the pre-set handle with a screw so to remove it you have to either pull it out from the back or remove the screw, I prefer to remove the nozzle and pull the needle out from the front so as not to pull paint back up in to the body, apart from that, impressed.

I've taken a couple of pictures which aren't brilliant as I used my phone under fluorescent lights

View attachment 61437

View attachment 61438

iwata1.jpg

iwata2.jpg

papa 695

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
I prefer the double action due to the fact you have more control over the amount of paint when spraying finer detail

First Name
Dave
I've got an Iwata revolution CR double action.Cant get the hang of the double action bit.So I've fitted the back end of a cheap airbrush I have.This has an adjustable stop to prevent me from pulling the lever back too far.So I've basically turned a double action into a single!.Works for me though.

john

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
First Name
John