Spraying temperature

B

Baz Williams

Good evening chaps - I'm still a bit new to this airbrushing lark but had been pretty happy with my initial attempts. Last week I tried to spray a few small parts before assembly (all1/72 WWII aircraft) and found my airbrush was clogging up.and refusing to spray. I flushed it through with thinners and the paint eventually came out in small lumps. I was using Lifecolour acrylics and had thinned them with IPA as usual.

I use a Premiair G35 and a small compressor. and I've never experienced this problem before. It was a pretty cold day and I'm currently forced to spray in my un-heated garage. I just wondered whether the temperature may be causing the paint to coagulate. Has anyone else had similar problems.

Many thanks

Baz

stona

SMF Supporter
First Name
Steve
I don't use that particular paint but the temperature of the paint and of course the air can have an affect on the way paints spray. If nothing else has changed in your method then it must be possible that this was a factor in your tribulations.

Cheer

Steve

T

tecdes

Baz try Lifecolour customer service & ask them for advice. They should give temperature ranges etc & thinning info.

Tell them the Airbrush type & the needle/nozzle size. Vallejo give all this info so Life Colour will if they are a good manufacturer.

From experience, using a garage, my results were not as good as when heated. Good idea to airbrush & keep you paint at room temperature.

Laurie

First Name
Gregg
I would say that temperature is probably a major factor here!

All paints are affected by temperature/humidity, as are compressors and spray-guns.

Gregg

Last edited by a moderator:
S

Stevekir

\ said:
…….

I flushed it through with thinners and the paint eventually came out in small lumps. I was using Lifecolour acrylics and had thinned them with IPA as usual.

……..