tamiya straight run figure 1/12

P

Paulali

Hi I have a tamiya 1/12 staight run figure,im after some info on weathering,i want to take the newness/harshness away from the figure,now i know i use a wash,but what colour? black? i use tamiya acrylics and have all the colours,so would it be flat black,semi-gloss black or full black gloss,or another colour? the figures leathers are red,hope you guys can help,look forward to any replys

View attachment 116021

TAMIYA-1-12-STRAIGHT-RUN-RIDER--1412341.jpg

takeslousyphotos

No Tears Please. It's a Waste of Good Suffering.
First Name
Peter
If you are doing black leathers....I would tone it down with Brown highlights....Old motorcycle leathers get to be Brown in the cracks and creases.

D

demon

I would try a brown wash for red leathers but I'm no expert

P

Paulali

\ said:
If you are doing black leathers....I would tone it down with Brown highlights....Old motorcycle leathers get to be Brown in the cracks and creases.
the leathers are red

takeslousyphotos

First Name
Peter
\ said:
thanks for the reply
I'm not sure about Red Leathers ....... Someone on here will know. There are some first class figure painters on here.

P

Paulali

\ said:
I'm not sure about Red Leathers ....... Someone on here will know. There are some first class figure painters on here.
ok,thanks Peter,i am going to try matt black wash tonight

takeslousyphotos

First Name
Peter
Why not paint a test piece first and experiment with that..........I was thinking earlier maybe a Brown wash o. Red might work.

takeslousyphotos

First Name
Peter
By test piece I mean a yoghurt pot or margarine container. Something with curves and angles.

P

Paulali

yeah ive had a trial,and i think perhaps you cant use acrylics for a wash,i made it really thin,and its just globulating,like rain does on a polished car,thats on a test piece and on the figure,perhaps i have made it to thin?definately need help please

Last edited:

takeslousyphotos

First Name
Peter