Washes

First Name
Alan
Hi all,

I am relatively new to scale modelling, it’s a hobby I enjoy very much. I am stuck when it comes to washes, especially on infantry and tank crews. Anytime I do a wash, the wash also darkens and stains the uniforms. I just can’t seem to get it to stay only in outline details without staining the uniform along with it. I was hoping someone on here would have some tips for me? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Alan

Ian M

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
Hi Alan. Welcome to the forum.
A wash works best if applied over a glossy finish. It will follow the detail and hopefully stay within the lines and around edges. If the surface is matt it will just soak everything.
A thin wash done twice is better than a thicker one which can obliterate the paint beneath it.
Have a look in some of the build sections in the Armour and figure sections. I am sure you will find plenty of examples there.

First Name
Alan
Hi Alan. Welcome to the forum.
A wash works best if applied over a glossy finish. It will follow the detail and hopefully stay within the lines and around edges. If the surface is matt it will just soak everything.
A thin wash done twice is better than a thicker one which can obliterate the paint beneath it.
Have a look in some of the build sections in the Armour and figure sections. I am sure you will find plenty of examples there.
Appreciate it, thanks.

Jim R

SMF Supporter
First Name
Jim
One thing that affects the way a wash flows, apart from the underlying surface, is the type of wash. Is it water based or is it an oil or enamel based wash? I personally find acrylic/water based washes difficult to work with. However some find they work perfectly.