What Grey ?

takeslousyphotos

No Tears Please. It's a Waste of Good Suffering.
First Name
Peter
Ok stupid question......... As I New to German armour. Should I be using FIELD GREY or DARK BLUE GREY ? My pole blitz truck looked good to me in dark blue grey........ I just started painting the wheels on my Hanomag Field Grey and I looks odd.

F

Fenlander

Field grey is the green gray attributed to the green(ish) uniform colour. What you want is called Dunkelgrau RAL 7021. It tends to look blueish some take it too far and use too much blue.

F

Fenlander

Oh, by the way, there is no such thing as a stupid question, only a stupid answers. Stupid answers are my speciality :oops:

takeslousyphotos

First Name
Peter
\ said:
Field grey is the green gray attributed to the green(ish) uniform colour. What you want is called Dunkelgrau RAL 7021. It tends to look blueish some take it too far and use too much blue.
Thanks Graham. You are a Star. I didn't think it looked right.

First Name
Robert
Alan's right and so is the Graham Dukelgrau is the correct RLM colour

The blue comes out more I find in different light

Robert

monica

“When there's no more room in hell, the dead will
SMF Supporter
First Name
monica
field grey is a uniform color ,and has a lite and dark,

I use panzer grray which is a darker blue/grey by vallejo,71-056 or German grey 71-052,

very close to each other and then tint down liter with an off white or even the lite grey primer, ;)

maybe of some help

as its been answered already,:rolleyes:

First Name
Robert
Here's a selection of RLM greys but Dunkelgrau is the standard RLM from what rcords I can retrieve image.jpeg

image.jpeg

D

dubster72

\ said:
Here's a selection of RLM greys but Dunkelgrau is the standard RLM from what rcords I can retrieve View attachment 142679 View attachment 142680
Sorry Robert, but RLM is the acronym for the Luftwaffe Ministry. For vehicles it should be RAL. Dunklegrau RAL 46 (later renumbered RAL 7021) was the base coat.