advice please on good quality paint brushes

C

chezzagaga

hi everyone. ive been painting the small parts of my model..no problem, and managed to do a nice job as ive took my time..Last night, i started painting the engines with a no 3 brush (revell) and i was soooo disapointed and annoyed because the bristles kept coming off..i tried picking them off but i dont want to ruin the paintwork..so as a result i have the odd bristle stuck to my engines. :sad: are there any better quality brushes about? personally, i dont think these revell brushes are THAT great. but then as this is my first time building, i might be doing something wrong? but i would still be interested in a better quality brush.. also, what brush could i use to paint the body of the plane eventually? im dreading the thought of all my hard work then landing up with bristles on the body of the plane..which will be painted in white gloss. thanks. :smiling3:

john

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
First Name
John
I'm not an expert on brushes but I believe sable would be the way to go, also AK Interactive have brought out a set of brushes which I've heard lots of good things about

T

tecdes

I go to my local art shop where they have quality Sable brushes. Expensive but found if you look after them they look after you.

Got advice here which I pass on. Really wash out your brushes so that you clear the stock of the brush of all paint etc. If you do not then you will end up with a selection as I have of brushes which have "forked tongue".

I now only use at a maximum of the bottom half of the brush hair keeping the stock well clear of paint. Worked well. Also think it was Colin CDW who said after washing slightly twist with moist lips (making sure you have removed all your last nights lipstick & powder) to leave with a nice pointed brush. I store mine upright in a jar to avoid crushing if laid on their side.

Laurie

Last edited:
C

CDW