Airfix 1 72 de Havilland HF 82a Tiger Moth

Valeron

SMF Supporter
First Name
Mike
Hi,

I'm new to all of this and announced my arrival a few days ago on the introduction thread. I was meant to be starting my new modelling hobby with a Tamiya 1/35 armoured vehicle but a friend very kindly dropped off this model for me yesterday with the Humbrol paints, so I'm going with this instead.

It looks quite simple in that there are limited colours so it should give me time to practise my skills. I imagine it will be quite fiddly to get the wings on though and I'll probably skip the optional extra bit (at least for now) of adding bracing wires and control cables.

I'll be hand panting and using the Humbrol enamels. I'll be taking my time as it's my first one since the 1970s. I'll and probably have a stab at washes and weathering which were knew concepts to me a month ago when I started reading up on this.

There are two colour schemes and I'll be going for the 1945 one, so basically green all over.

I'll be starting by painting the small parts on the sprue and then assembling the plane and going from there.

I've started by h20220118_105232.jpg20220118_105245.jpg20220118_105342.jpga

20220117_140559.jpg

20220117_140613.jpg

adt70hk

I know its a bit sad but I like quickbuild kits!!!
SMF Supporter
First Name
Andrew
Mike

Good to see the first kit under way. Someone at my model club was only saying on Sunday what a good kit this is.

Just make sure you clean it with soapy water ahead of the build to kill all the grease off.

One word on the paints, when I first came back to the hobby about 7 years ago, i too used enamels because I knew no different and was a bit suspicious about these new-fangled acrylic paints.

It didn't take that long to make the move over - the water based ones don't smell, they're easy to clean and dry so much quicker than enamels.....