Heng Long Tiger 1 rebuild

D

dm73

Evening Andy, not completely finished yet but its been put on the back burner as i've started the Jan group build. I'll stick up some photos of where i'm up to once i find my camera lol

S

Sky Raider

Thanks Darren, im looking forward to seeing your progress. I was hopeing you would finish before me. lol

Andy

D

dm73

Ah thats my cunning plan, i'll see how you finish yours and nick some of your ideas lol

S

Sky Raider

lol, i cant promise a masterpiece, this is my very first attempt at a Tank. I will ask a question if i may. How did you prep yours for Primer, did you wash it over and if so what with?

Thanks on advance Darren.

Andy

D

dm73

Same here, hadn't built a tank before this but seem to be acquiring new ones weekly lol, i prepped the tiger by rubbing it all over with a car bodywork scotch pad, they come in different grades but i used the finest they do (Halfords), gave the paint something to cling to but didn't leave deep scratches.

S

Sky Raider

Hi Darren,

Thanks for that, didnt you give it a wipe over with thinners as well. I do this with the bigger models because of oily finger marks?

Andy

D

dm73

No, i didn't even think about that bit :damn:, another tip learned. I do wear latex gloves most of the time anyway because i don't seem to be able to paint anything with out wearing most of it lol so that may have been my saving grace

S

Sky Raider

I have the gloves to but dont wear then until the paint stage also, it just the problem of the handleing in the process of carrying out the wear and tear. Ill give it a brush over with some spray gun cleaner first i think and then let it dry before primeing.

e

Cheers

Andy

D

dm73

Morning all, After reading my names going on spraymans list i thought i'd better get some progress pics up quick.

Finished the flag with a little more weathering and damage, the tow cables are finshed and weathered with pro modeller rust wash.