colin m

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Colin
Well it was a toss up between the Airfix and the Revell version of the new moulds tail dragging Shackletons. Even though I'm a big fan of new Airfix offerings, I went for the Revell Growler based on surface detail alone really. Which of course meant I had to wait. Whilst Airfix Shack's were popping up, I had to wait, and wait. I'm not very good at waiting.

Anyway, this turned up a day or two ago.

The box, normal open end type of Revell box.

IMG_0123.JPG

The instructions, nice.

IMG_0127.JPG

Decals, lots of for the use of.

IMG_0129.JPG

Just a couple of sprue shots,

IMG_0124.JPG

IMG_0125.JPG

IMG_0126.JPG

So, today I fully intend to immerse myself in.......................decorating. But, when the bathroom is done, sprue cutting shall commence.

Colin M....

papa 695

Staff member
SMF Supporter
First Name
Ian
There looks like some great detail on this one Colin.

Well I've just pulled up my chair, but hurry up with the bathroom Colin, just like you I'm not a very good waiter.

Vaughan

SMF Supporter
First Name
Vaughan
Just been looking at the 2015 new tooling Airfix version as my father in-law flew them in the Far East in the early 60's. His was an MR.2 in 205 squadron and the Airfix has those markings. But looking at your sprue shots they look very detailed. The Airfix version does come with weighted wheels, but I'm sure you could get resin versions. The rivet detail looks very good vertually none on the airfix and the panel lines are very deep. Looking forward to this build.

Last edited by a moderator:
F

Fenlander