Brand new to the scale model world!

L

louish118

Hello everyone, I'll start off by saying that I have not yet acquired a model yet. I'm particularly interested in Tanks from the second world war and so have been trawling through the internet over the past few weeks.

Firstly, what is the best scale to start on? I've been looking at 1/76, mainly Airfix for their Cromwells, Shermans, Tigers and Panthers. But I may eventually want backgrounds to go with them and so are features such as buildings and plantation etc easy enough to find in the same scale?

Secondly, I have no experience painting models. Can anyone come up with a simple idiot-proof guide for me?

I'm guessing it's best to paint as you put the parts together?

Any tips will be greatly appreciated. I am going to try my local shopping centre for Airfix tomorrow!

Thanks,

Louis.

Louis.

L

Laurie

Louis welcome to this forum you have chosen well as it caters for every one.

Not a tank man but some one here will help.

Best thing is to look down the forum and you will find the build section. have a look at those who have shown photos as they go along in the build.

Laurie

First Name
Richard
Hi Louis and welcome to the best forum out there.

Ok, so your into WWII Tanks, I am not really familiar with Airfix models, but i do know they have some good starter sets.

View attachment 95253

After buying something like that, you will need a good hobby knife, and now the realistic part, is to see how much fun it is for you to build.

I am more in 1/35 because of the aftermarket parts and the details on the Models but that is a personal thing.

Painting in 1/76 I would do after the build is complete at least with the tanks.

Hope this helps a little.

Ps always feel free to ask there are allot of talented people over here.

Cheers Richi

Cheers Richi

airfix-pzkw-vi-ausf.b-king-tiger-starter-set.jpg

L

louish118

Thanks Richi, I was looking at this model, if it's in stock I'll pick it up tomorrow

Louis.

eddiesolo