Engel U177 IX D2

S

solo

Well as i said in the chit chat thread my kit has arrived.

First impressions It's Huge where am I going to build it?:thinking:

It came well packed and has everything I need to start.including pitch and depth controller and T.A.E.S.

As a complete newbie this thread will probably be more about my disasters than triumphs but already I have had useful tips from Mankster and Screwloose. I will post pictures as I progress.

M

Mankster

Looks like Engel kits are taking over this part of the forum. Ahh... the best feeling is opening all the packaging and laying it all out, so you can apreciate what you get for your money. Don't forget to post pics of the contents!

S

subzero

I think you are right about Engel kits taking over,

I have the Engel Full Akula kit to build too !!

Says something about Engels products I think, QUALITY !!

Regards to all.

S

solo

All Parts Present and correct.

img008.jpg

img009.jpg

L

Lips McGee

I've been fascinated by these models since I got to this forum. I am thinking about expanding my horizons a bit... Where would I do more research and get more info on these Engel kits? Do they have a website?

S

subzero

sub web sites

Hi and welcome.

The engel web site is www.engel-modellbau.de

Be warned....... it can seriously damage your wallet !!!:grinball2:

I note you are in the USA,, have a look at The Sub Commitee web site

The Subcommitee.com

+

Also subpirates.com

Enjoy. :regards: Sub.

S

solo

Well as a newbie decided to build as per instruction booklet. Wartertight compartment lid is the first job.

Full stop here. Drill bits missing and Drill press not working. Quick trip to B&Q for several small tools,files and new drill press. In luck here picked up an end of line job for peanuts.