Diary of a Madman. Yamaha M1 2009 detail build

F

funkyrimpler

And so it begins. Thanks to my recent separation from the missus ive been able to reclaim the spare room and turn it into a mess..just how i like to work!

The project is a super detail build of Valentino Rossis' 2009 Yamaha YZR M1 world championship bike. This is my first time using upgrade parts and i want to make this my ultimate build as ive been in training for this one by using PE on earlier models and gaining more experience and knowledge from you modelling gurus.

Heres a pic showing most of the parts!

View attachment 53800

P7120002.jpg

F

funkyrimpler

some additional pics here.

Ive snipped off the original plastic air valves from the wheels and drilled 0.55m holes to accept the Top Studio upgraded metal air valves. Ive also sanded the tiny molding seams the line the inside of the wheels and spokes..very time consuming..i dont know if these lines would even be visible but i intend to start as i mean to go on.

The photos of the resin parts show where i have become a Jedi Master in the art of drilling pin vise holes! Theres about 15 0.5mm holes on the central resin part alone. I will be painting these semi black and covering with carbon decals. The tiny holes are to accept electrical connectors which will be a challenge as the connecting wires are 0.3mm and im also going to be using shrink tube where the wires enter the connectors. Ive never used shrink tube before so im stabbing in the dark. I just hope that the application of heat wont destroy the decals, so i'll try different heating methods on spare parts that applied carbon fibre to.

I hope you find the pictures that i intend to add of interest and any fellow bike builders may learn from my inevitable disasters!

View attachment 53801

View attachment 53802

View attachment 53803

View attachment 53804

View attachment 53805

P7120006.jpg

P7120001.jpg

P7120003.jpg

P7120004.jpg

P7120005.jpg

F

funkyrimpler