Panzer IV

First Name
Robert
hi chaps

Well I'm almost finished my WW1 first tank painting exercise so im thinking of my next meaty course. I know this is a popular tank build so I don't think threads on builds will be needed but it's more a new painting exercise for me ( practice )

My aim is to show a battle tank knocked out so chipping and explosive damage will be my aim damaged areas etc

I have never built this tank before but looks straight forward ( I hope )

I'm not too sure on colour ref yet as I want to portray a Afrika korps tank ( Rommels)

I'm looking for ref on original factory colours ( before sent out to Africa so I can fade the desset colours back to original if that makes sense

The kit I'll be using is a swapsie I did recently

Comments and help with ref most appreciated

Cheers

Robert

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

L

lizz62

Looks like a great idea. Can't wait. I like to build my armor based on actual photos.

monica

“When there's no more room in hell, the dead will
SMF Supporter
First Name
monica
cool idea like the sounds of it,and yes you did get my attention, :D

D

dubster72

Robert, Afrika Corps tan was RAL8020 which was adopted in 1942 - a good match for a Panzer IV F1/2.

Xtracolor do a very good match, X808 but that's the dreaded enamel! Tamiya Desert Yellow is pretty good, but as for Vallejo I have no idea!

First Name
Robert
\ said:
Robert, Afrika Corps tan was RAL8020 which was adopted in 1942 - a good match for a Panzer IV F1/2.
Xtracolor do a very good match, X808 but that's the dreaded enamel! Tamiya Desert Yellow is pretty good, but as for Vallejo I have no idea!
Thanks for paint ref guides ( I may go down the line of sparking the tank German light grey for primer ( was it a white interior on Panzer IV?, then a German Wehrmacht blue/ grey then adopt the Africa Korp colours before I wreck it ( so to speak ):rolleyes: I don't want to go down enamel pathway as rather stick to acrylics.